Introductions Are in Order

Greetings, good people! My name is Chris and I am the overseer of this blog!

468454_10151489733088235_1588930555_o

This was a difficult period of my life.

Of course, it would be pretty rude to just start ranting about things that nobody cares about without having properly introduced myself.

I have several interests that this place will be focused on – particularly: photography, anime, and video games. I also expect to post quite a bit about food and general experiences in the real world, as well as covering pretty much anything that catches my attention.

Photography

me_001I’m an enthusiast and hobbyist photographer that occasionally (and by “occasionally”, I mean a couple times a year or less) freelances for small gigs and events. I’m generally “jack-of-all-trades” oddball when it comes to style, but I generally prefer portraiture and street photography. I don’t consider myself very good, but I’m still growing technically and creatively!

As far as gear, I generally carry a basic Canon 1100D loaded with either a Sigma 30mm f/1.4 (EX version) and a Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4. As you can tell, I’m a pretty low-end budget photographer, but my gear as so far been sufficient for my uses. I’m hoping to switch to Sony if a new APS-C mirrorless is announced soon, since they seem to be more cost efficient for hobbyists and their mirrorless cameras are a great size for someone like me, who takes his camera with him almost everywhere.

Anime

saogathering2013

As much as I dislike Sword Art Online these days, this 2013 gathering was formidable…

This is pretty much my guilty pleasure and has been a part of my life since the good ol’ Toonami days in the 90s. Most of my friends are aware that I’m pretty much otaku garbage, but only a few people at work are aware of my interests. Or anything about me in general, to be fair…

Alright, maybe it’s not really much of a secret…

I’m very picky when it comes to shows, but generally I like a sprinkling of anything. I’m an action fan at heart, but I have a huge love for slice-of-life romance titles. I’m a gigantic Gundam nerd (though would it be fair to call myself that after dropping G-Reco after 3 episodes?). I highly enjoy cliché stories about young heroes who start out weak and rise to the top. I also love complex plotlines weaved with godlike animation – and on that note, the new Fate/stay night adaptation is godly, isn’t it?

However, the stories that have affected me the most are closer to slice-of-life and dramas, such as Wolf Children, Clannad, and AnoHana. I’ve never cried watching a series, but I’ve come closest during those movies because I have a hard time realizing that some of my favorite people in the world don’t even exist and I hate myself.

Other Things about Me

1899574_10152052272963235_2069986376_o (1)

I’m in my early 20s and I’m currently still completing my general education to major in computer science. I also work as a medical assistant at a dermatology clinic. Although I used to live in an apartment with other people, I currently live with my parents and have been here for the past 3 years. I’ve been borderline homeless before, living in hotels due to the sporadic nature of my dad’s work, but since my job has stabilized us to a degree, I’m no longer in as dreadful of a situation as that.

I have a wonderful girlfriend who has stuck it out with me, romantically and platonically, for almost 9 years. She’s my best friend! I also have a couple of other close friends and a handful of people I like to talk to, but most of my relationships are online since I find it difficult to share much face-to-face time with others.

I’m not a very good language student, as I’ve taken AP Spanish and my Spanish is elementary level at best. Nevertheless, I always love to learn, so I spend some time practicing my basic Spanish at work and I’m also undergoing a mix of self-study and formal education to learn Japanese. Other languages I’d love to pick up are Mandarin, Korean, and even my parents’ native language of Tagalog, which I’ve never gotten a firm grasp of despite being spoken to in Tagalog on a daily basis.

I’m a proud PC lover (I’ve stuck to the same desktop PC for almost 4 years now, which I built back in 2011) and stick to Android phones. I do like Macs quite a bit, but if I can’t get similar technology to mine within the same budget, then it’s unfortunately out of the picture.

I consider myself to be very open-minded, as I’ll like pretty much everything. This goes for anything from video games to music.

Now, without giving too much away, I hope I can share a lot more about myself on this blog! Please feel free to comment on any posts that interest you.

tl;dr im trash love me….

About sploradorali

Photographer, nerd media consumer, and aspiring tech monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introductions Are in Order

  1. mirrorpurple says:

    Have fun bloggin’~

Leave a Reply

